Commentary

Opinion Pieces

Wearne, E. (2021). “Hybrid Homeschools: Big Battalions vs Little Platoons.” FORMA, Summer 2021.

Wearne, E. (June 15, 2021). “The Resilience of Hybrid Homeschools.” Vela Education Fund Stories blog. Retrieved from https://velaedfund.org/the-resilience-of-hybrid-homeschools/

Wearne, E. (May 14, 2021). “The Growth of the Hybrid Homeschool Movement.” City Journal. Retrieved from https://www.city-journal.org/the-growth-of-the-hybrid-homeschool-movement.

Wearne, E. (April 15, 2021). “Bespoke Platoons.” Law & Liberty. Retrieved from https://lawliberty.org/bespoke-platoons/.

Wearne, E. (November 12, 2020). “Don’t Overwater the Pods.” Imaginative Conservative. Retrieved from https://theimaginativeconservative.org/2020/11/dont-overwater-pods-eric-wearne.html.

Wearne, E. (July 31, 2020). “Hybrid Homeschools and Civil Society.” Imaginative Conservative. Retrieved from https://theimaginativeconservative.org/2020/07/hybrid-home-schools-civil-society-eric-wearne.html.

Wearne, E. (May 12, 2020). “Parents Wade Into ‘Hybrid’ Homeschooling.” Daily Signal. Retrieved from https://www.dailysignal.com/2020/05/12/parents-wade-into-hybrid-homeschooling/.

Wearne, E. (April 8, 2020). “Coronavirus Closures Show the Value of Hybrid Homeschools.” The Federalist. Retrieved from https://thefederalist.com/2020/04/08/coronavirus-school-closures-show-the-value-of-hybrid-homeschools/.

Wearne, E. (April 3, 2020). “Hybrid Homeschools Offer Families Options Amid Coronavirus Uncertainty.” Georgia Public Policy Foundation. Retrieved from https://www.georgiapolicy.org/issue/hybrid-home-schools-offer-families-options-amid-coronavirus-uncertainty/.

Wearne, E. (August 18, 2017). “These Parents Put Their Kids in Schools Two or Three Days a Week and Love It.” The Federalist. Retrieved from https://thefederalist.com/2017/08/18/wealthy-parents-put-kids-school-two-three-days-week-love/

Multimedia

2021 May: Harvard Kennedy School / Taubman Center for State & Local Government: Post-Pandemic Future of Homeschooling Conference.  Is it Time for a Change to Homeschool Law?  https://www.hks.harvard.edu/centers/taubman/programs-research/pepg/events/future-homeschooling
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CGCQNh_KFY&t=2s

2021 March: Clubhouse Room (hosted by Lisa Snell and Adam Peshek). “Today’s Homeschool: Diverse, Cooperative, Individualized.”

2021 February: Edge of Faith. Podcast: “Learning Today.” https://edgeoffaithmagazine.com/2021/02/18/learning-today/

2021 February: Interview with The Economist: “Covid-19 has persuaded some parents that home-schooling is better.” https://www.economist.com/international/2021/02/22/covid-19-has-persuaded-some-parents-that-home-schooling-is-better

2021 January:  edChoice.  Podcast: Big Ideas – “Defining Hybrid Homeschools in America”.   https://soundcloud.com/edchoice/ep-231-big-ideas-defining-hybrid-homeschools-in-america-with-eric-wearne

2020 November: Education Freedom Institute. Podcast: In Conversation with EFI: “Defining Hybrid Homeschools.” https://anchor.fm/efinstitute/episodes/33-Defining-Hybrid-Homeschools-emir3i

2020 July: Georgia Legislative Policy Forum Panel Moderator: Opportunities for Education Adaptation. Georgia Public Policy Foundation. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WapF1h5tniI&t=2s

2020 June: GHEX Homeschool Researchers’ Working Group Presentation. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJdgjQJS4LI&list=PLTIaEN0Sehi8hejDjcRjnX6u81vr9e6Qe&index=3

2020 May: Georgia Policy Brief: Hybrid Schools. Georgia Public Policy Foundation. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UExaSUhwrXQ&t=2s

©