CIA Certification Requirements

Requirements for CIA certification:

  1. Apply to become a candidate by submitting three (3) items:
    • An application
    • A character reference
    • Academic transcripts
  2. Pass a three-part exam including:
    • Part 1 – Essentials of Internal Auditing
      • A candidate who passes Part 1 may be eligible for the “CIA Practitioner” designation while they complete the remaining two parts of the exam.
    • Part 2 – Practice of Internal Auditing
    • Part 3 – Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing
  3. Have a combination of education and work experience to become certified
    • The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) has established a scale allowing more education to supplement part of the experience requirement.

Once certified, CIAs are required to participate in Continuing Professional Education (CPE) in order to maintain their credentials. For more information see CIA-Certification and CIA-Eligibility-Requirements for more specific information regarding education and experience requirements.

Students are encouraged to talk to the Director of the Internal Audit Center while pursuing their CIA.