Coles College Leadership

The Coles College dedicated leadership team includes the following


Dean Kathy Schwaig

Kathy Schwaig is Dean and Dinos Eminent Scholar Chair of Entrepreneurial Management and Professor of Information Systems in the Michael J. Coles College of Business at Kennesaw State University.  Dr. Schwaig joined the faculty at KSU in 2002 bringing over twenty years of teaching and professional experience to the classroom.

Read the Dean’s welcome message here.


Hope Baker, Associate Dean for Assessment and Undergraduate Programs
Mandy Brooks, Assistant Dean of Marketing and External Relations
Kathryn Epps, Associate Dean and Director, School of Accountancy
Raj Veliyath, Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Programs

Academic Department Heads

David Burns, Chair, Marketing and Professional Sales
Traci Carte, Chair, Information Systems
Robin Cheramie, Chair, Management and Entrepreneurship
Kathryn Epps, Director, School of Accountancy and Associate Dean
Brett Katzman, Chair, Economics, Finance and Quantitative Analysis

Advisory Board

The advisory board provides the Coles College administration with support and advice regarding policies, programs, and the direction of the College, among other duties.

Sarah Boone, Financial Advisor
UBS Financial Services, Inc.

Barbara Borczak, CPA Principal

Genevieve Bos, Chief Executive Officer

Shealynn Buck, Vice President of Health Integration
Marsh & McLennan Agency

Sean Fallmann, President and CEO
Consolidated Container Company

Barry Flink, Executive Vice President & Partner
Flex HR, Inc.

Hunter Groton, Senior Director
BNY Mellon Wealth Management
Business-to-Business Media Expert

Dale Hughes, Partner
Jeremiah Consulting LLC

Tom Hughes, Founder & Past President/CEO
National Electronic Attachment, Inc. & Medical Electronic Attachment, Inc.

Kristi Johnson, CPA and Principal
Windham Brannon 

Steve Johnson, Consultant                                                                     
Johnson Consulting

Diana Keough, CEO, Founder, Editor-in-Chief                                     
ShareWIK Media Group

Steven M. LaMastra, President and CEO
Star Commercial Real Estate
Monarch Investments Group, L.L.C. 

Phil N. McCullough, President   
McCullough Consulting, LLC 

Lee Rhyant, President
LER Solutions, LLC

Michael E. Russell, President

Kat Schwaig, Dean
Coles College of Business

Doug Shore, Board Member
Coles College of Business

Michael M. Smith, Shareholder
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC

Kerstin L. Valdes, Vice President Finance – Divisional CFO
Consumer Business, Georgia-Pacific LLC


Executives in Residence

Executives in residence provide coaching and mentoring to Coles College of Business students.

Bernice Dixon, Founder
Advising Angels

Connie L. Engel, Partner
Childress Klein Properties

Barry Flink, Executive Vice President and Partner
FlexHR, Inc.

John W. Gamble, Founder and Principal
Tenacity, Inc.

Rita Izaguirre, Principal, Ideias

William G. Lako Jr., CFP, Principal
G.W. Henssler & Associates, Ltd.

Harry Maziar, President
Zep Manufacturing Company

Larry Stevens, Partner (Retired)
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Harry VardisFounder and Principal
Creative Focus, Inc.

Steve Wurzbacher, Principal

Erin WolfFounder and Managing Partner

Entrepreneurs in Residence

Entrepreneurs in residence provide coaching and mentoring to Coles College of Business students.

Thomas W. Hughes
Founder & Past President/CEO
National Electronic Attachment, Inc. & Medical Electronic Attachment, Inc.

Howard Weinstein
Former CEO and Owner
Monarch Wine Company


Coles Researchers

View our Faculty and Research page for our Research Magazine and more.

Our Impact

Learn more about our impact in business, research and education

Coles Hall of Fame

Meet our 2015 Hall of Fame Inductees